I made cheese!

I have wanted to make cheese forever.  I finally made some!  I am so darned proud of myself!  🙂  Of course I chose a very simple cheese to start with, Paneer.   But nonetheless…..I MADE IT!

We purchased The Cheesemaker’s Pantry kit from Hoegger’s Supply Company.  I absolutely LOVE the recipe book that came in the kit!  The pictures are phenomenal.  And the information and directions are great!  If you don’t need the kit, the recipe book would definitely be one you want for your collection!  (I have not been paid to do a review, just really like the product!)

So it all started with a gallon of raw goat’s milk

It’s best to use a double boiler, but you can use a regular pot as well.  Just make sure you stir constantly while waiting for milk to come to a roaring boil.  You don’t want to scald your milk.


Waiting to boil….getting close

Once your milk boils remove from heat and add in either lemon juice, vinegar or citric acid powder that has been dissolved in water



Stir for about 2 minutes.  Make sure you stir in one direction so your curds will form.  If you want salt now is the time to add it.



After your curds form cover your pot for 10 minutes.  Once your whey has settled it is now time to drain


Pour your whey and curds into a strainer lined with cheese cloth over a large pot.


That will leave you with your curds in the cheesecloth and your whey down below in the pot.

Hang your cheese in the cloth above your strainer so the rest of the whey can drain out and the cheese gets firm

This is the whey I got from 1 gallon of milk.  I will either be  using it to make mozarella cheese or I will freeze some for when we have “dry months”.  I know for sure I will be making some fermented whey lemonade.  This is a yummy treat!

And here it is!  My first cheese!  It’s not pretty.  In fact it looks like it would be fun to use for Halloween as a brain.  But it is FANTASTIC! I am so happy with the end result and I am ready to make more!  My next endevor will be a yummy soft spreadable cheese.

3 thoughts on “I made cheese!

  1. Hello Bobbi

    Wow, I’m impressed! I have been wanting to make cheese for a while now. I have a neighbor who makes feta. Your pictures really make it look so easy…

    I’m sure it becomes easier with practice. 🙂

  2. Hi, Bobbie. Here from the Reciprocal Bloggers groups – and I’m a friend of Stephanie’s (above), as well as a local friend to Laurie, who writes Common Sense Homesteading. I’m not a homesteader myself, but I do homeschool, and my girls and I are becoming increasingly interested in more holistic living so your post is very interesting. We once made a small amount of cheese in a similar way – we had to shake it by hand, though! – for a homeschool project, It’d be neat to do it on a regular basis like this.

Don't be shy! Leave a comment so I know you were here!

